Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

“One day away from the games, I can say we are ready”: Yamil Bukele

The president of the Organizing Committee of the XXIV Central American and Caribbean Games San Salvador 2023, Yamil Bukele, participated this morning in the General Assembly of Centro Caribe Sports (CCS), attended by the representatives of the 35 countries that will be in action in the regional competition.

“One day away from the games, I can say we are ready. We want to carry out quality games for our guests and for the people of El Salvador”, said Bukele to the assembly members on the eve of the opening ceremony of San Salvador 2023.

The General Director of the Organizing Committee of the Games, Dinora Acevedo, also spoke at the General Assembly of CCS to give a report on the organization of regional competition.

“It is an honor for us to be at this General Assembly and I would also like to tell you that we are ready”, said Acevedo who yesterday was praised by members of the CCS Executive Committee for her leadership in the direction of COSSAN2023.

Armando Bruni, President of the Olympic Committee of El Salvador, also spoke at the international event.

“I would like to welcome you, as the Olympic Committee, we want to recognize the government for its commitment to the Olympic Games. In a year and a half, we have completed our work”, stated Bruni.

José Monegro, President of the sub venue of Santo Domingo, claimed that Dominican Republic is also ready to start the games and be the complement of the venue in San Salvador.

Finally, the President of CCS, Luis Mejía, once again congratulated the host country. “Today, against all odds, El Salvador has done a great feat. I want to thank you because El Salvador saved the games”, Mejía exclaimed.


The table of honor of the General Assembly of Centro Caribe Sports was comprised by Ciro Solano, second vice-president of CCS; Eduardo Alvarez CCS general secretary; Jimena Saldaña, CCS first vice-president; Baltazar Medina, ODEBO president.

Also, Yamil Bukele, president of COSSAN; Luis Mejía, president of CCS; Armando Bruni, president of COES; Camilo Pérez, president of ODESUR.

Also present were Keith Josep, from CANOC; Sara Rosario, third vice-president of CCS; Dinora Acevedo, general director of COSSAN, and José Monegro, president of the Santo Domingo branch.

Finally, Hans Larse, fifth member; Ángel Morales, fourth member; Christopher Samuda, third member; Ruperto Herrera, second member; Steve Steoute, past president; and Lourdes Gómez, assistant secretary.

Leave a comment